Scroll to content
Allens Croft Primary School and Resource Base home page

Allens Croft Primary School and Resource Base

Contact Us


Changes to the 2014 curriculum have seen name ‘Information and Communication Technology’ replaced by ‘Computing’. Computing can be broken into three areas: Information Technology, Digital Literacy and Online Safety. 


"Computers are now part of everyday life. For most of us, technology is essential to our lives, at home and at work. ‘Computational thinking’ is a skill children must be taught if they are to be ready for the workplace and able to participate effectively in this digital world. The new national curriculum for computing has been developed to equip young people in England with the foundational skills, knowledge and understanding of computing they will need for the rest of their lives. Through the new programme of study for computing, they will learn how computers and computer systems work, they will design and build programs, develop their ideas using technology and create a range of content." Simon Peyton-Jones - Chairman, Computing At School. 


At Allens Croft, we have a computer suite that enables a whole class to be taught simultaneously. We have also access to IPADs to enhance teaching and learning across the curriculum. 


In addition, each classroom is networked, giving all the children access to the internet via classroom computers and the Interactive White Board. Curriculum areas including, but not limited to, English and Mathematics have individual software packages geared towards individual learning needs. Software throughout the network is recommended by the Local Authority and covers stages of learning from Early Years (reception), through Key Stages 1 (infants) and 2 (juniors).


We teach our Computing through the following units. Click below to find out more. 

You can view the National Curriculum below. 

You can view our Computing policy below.